If you are using a laptop or tablet you can view the menu items for this section listed alphabetically to your right,

Image of More button top rightIf you are using your cell phone, simply click on the 'More' button at the top right of your screen to open the section menu.

If you have any difficulty navigating the menu please simply call us during business hours at 780-864-3760 and ask to speak to the Legislative Services Officer or email us at


A Message from the Reeve

On behalf of Saddle Hills County Council I would like to welcome you to our website and thank you for your interest. Together with administration we are diligently working to provide quality services for our residents and ratepayers. Since becoming a county in 1995, we have been able to improve our County's infrastructure and increase service levels while maintaining tax advantages. We will aim to continue to preserve the Saddle Hills way of life and improve services in order to ensure a bright and prosperous future.

Once again, thank you for your visit and should you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact myself, any member of council or administration.


Reeve Alvin Hubert

All seven Councillors in the Council Chambers

(Top, Left to Right) Councillor Lawrence Andruchiw (Ward 6), Councillor Willis Fitzsimmons (Ward 5), Councillor Ed Armagost (Ward 4), Councillor Ken Titford (Ward 1), Councillor John Moen (Ward 7). (Bottom, Left to Right) Deputy Reeve Kristen Smith (Ward 3), Reeve Alvin Hubert (Ward 2).

About Council

The Council of Saddle Hills County is responsible for providing good and accountable government to the people of the County. Council works closely with the Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) and Administration to serve the community.

Council meets on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month. Council meetings are open to the public and take place at the County Office.

Council is composed of seven members. Each represents one of the wards in the County.  You can reach them by email (simply click on their names in green type below) or by phone at the number indicated.

Our Council Members are:

Reeve Alvin Hubert, Ward 2

Alvin and his wife Janet moved to Saddle Hills County in the early 1980s. They established a grain farm in the Cotillion area, north of Bonanza. In this wonderful community, they raised their four children.

Over the years, their family have been involved with minor hockey, the Cotillion Rec Association, the Savanna and Bonanza fairs, and the local 4-H club.

Alvin and Janet love getting to spend time with their grandkids when they can.

Alvin has been on council for well over a decade. He continues to enjoy his work, and loves giving back to the community.

Ph (Cell): 


Deputy Reeve Kristen Smith, Ward 3

Kristen was raised in Fourth Creek on her parents' cattle and grain operation. Kristen and her husband built their own farmstead in Silver Valley, where they are raising their four children. Kristen worked as an assessor for the County for seven years. Currently, she works with her husband on their family farm on top of her work as a Councillor and mother.

With her long history of volunteer service, Kristen has always enjoyed being active in her community. She is proud to use her experience and knowledge of municipal government to serve her ward and the County as a whole.

Ph (Cell): 


Councillor Ken Titford, Ward 1

Ken has lived in Bay Tree for over 30 years. He and his family have a commercial Simmental cow and calf mixed farm. They also operate small equipment contracting business. Ken served as a councillor for the area between 1986 and 1995 when it was still an improvement district. He continues to take pride in serving the County.

Ph (Home): 


Councillor Ed Armagost, Ward 4

Ed conducts a mixed farm and ranch operation on his family property, along with his wife Betty and son Michael. Ed's parents set up a homestead on the property back in 1964, and he has lived there ever since. Public service is an important part of community life to Ed. He has served as Chief of the Savanna Fire department, the President of the Savanna Ag Society, and as both a member and Chair of the County's Agricultural Service Board. Ed truly believes in the importance of giving back to our community.

Ph (Cell): 


Councillor Willis Fitzsimmons, Ward 5

Willis and his wife Debbie moved their family to the Blueberry Mountain area in 1976. Along with their son Danny and his family, they operate their family farm. Danny works in the oil and gas industry in the County as well, and his children attend the Savanna School.

Their daughter Glory-Dawn lives in Peace River, also working in the oil and gas industry. Her daughter, the first granddaughter in the family, is a hair-stylist in Grande Prairie.

Willis loves how wonderful it has been to raise a family here in the County. Family reunions at the family farm have become a tradition. Family from the cities always love coming back to the beautiful nature and open spaces of the County. Willis takes pride in making this a place where other people can create such wonderful memories with their families.

Ph (Cell): 


Councillor Lawrence Andruchiw, Ward 6

Lawrence was born and raised in Sprit River, and bought his Happy Valley farm in 1973. He married his wife Lori in 1977. Lawrence worked on the oil rigs for 19 years, and eventually settled down to raise cattle. They are both very proud of their two daughters and four granddaughters. Lawrence currently plays hockey with the 50+ and Old Timers teams, and occasionally plays with the Savanna team.

Lawrence has served as the Happy Valley Fire Chief for over 15 years, and has been a member for over 20 years. He has also served on the Peace Country Beef and Forage Association, the Happy Valley Surface Rights Association, and the REA Board. Lawrence knows how important it is for a community to be safe, secure, and happy.

Ph (Cell): 


Councillor John Moen, Ward 7

John grew up raising cattle and farming grains on his family farm. He moved to Woking in the 1980's and has done gravelling and backhoe work in the area for many years. John's son and daughter both attend Ste. Marie Catholic School in Spirit River.

As a member of the Woking School Parent Council, John knows how important it is for our young people to learn and grow in a healthy and happy environment. He also volunteers at the Woking Skating Rink Association. In all of his work, John takes pride in giving back and lifting his community up. 

Ph (Cell):