School Support

Every year the Province of Alberta calculates, based on assessment value, the amount each municipality must contribute towards the public education system.

Municipalities collect the education property tax (school support) from ratepayers and then forward it to the province for deposit into the Alberta School Foundation Fund (ASFF). The Alberta Government provides an in-depth explanation of the Education Property Tax online.